Quotes are so beautiful because someone has figured out how to explain something so perfectly with words. I enjoy reading quotes and recall many of them when I am upset or need some advice about life. This being said, choosing favorites is not easy for me. The two quotes I have written about are among the ones that have touched my heart. If you wish to see some other quotes I enjoy, then check out my Pinterest.

One of my favorite quotes is in an episode of Dr. Who; Amy Pond said this about her boyfriend Rory: “You know when sometimes you meet someone so beautiful, and then you actually talk to them, and five minutes later they’re dull as a brick. But then there’s other people, and you meet them and you think ‘not bad, they’re okay’, and then you get to know them, and their face sort of becomes them, like their personality is written all over it, and they just they turn into something so beautiful. Rory is the most beautiful man I’ve ever met.”

When she said it the first time my heart melted. In the television show, Amy is beautiful and intelligent while Rory is nerdy and not a person most would give a second look at, but he always shows his love for Amy. My favorite part is when she finishes her statement by calling Rory beautiful. Her voice does not falter and with her tone she also tells that no other statement could be truer. I have found her statement to be true in my relationships. They say “love is blind,” but if anything love provides better sight.

One of the quotes I use most is, “A smooth sea never made a skilled sailor.” I have this quote memorized possibly because it is so short or simply, but the meaning is much larger. Life can be difficult and as humans we begin to question why me or why is God doing this. These hardships cause each of us to grow as individuals. Someone could make the argument that it could help others as well, which I agree, but ultimately everyone has to experience the event because that’s how their life is shaped. In order for a sailor to be good, he must have the knowledge and experience of working with the sea.